Walter Lippmann Memorial Oration


The Walter Lippmann Memorial Oration is held each year in honour of one of ECCV’s founders, Walter Lippmann, who was a strong advocate, over a long period of time, for many issues relating to ethnic communities within Victoria and throughout Australia.

Previous presenters of the oration have included Professor Marcia Langton AM, eminent barrister and human rights activist Julian Burnside AO QC, former head of the Australian Human Rights Commission, Emeritus Professor Gillian Triggs and former Justice of the High Court of Australia, The Hon Michael Kirby AC.

We thank the Lippmann family for their ongoing support.

10th Walter Lippmann Memorial Oration

The 10th Annual Walter Lippmann Memorial Oration took place at the Wheeler Centre on Thursday, 13 October 2022. Our eminent speaker was The Hon Tony Pagone AM KC, a former judge of the Federal Court of Australia, who has made a significant contribution to Australian public life throughout his distinguished legal career. Mr Pagone was also a founding councillor of the Italian Australian Institute and served four years as President of Co.As.It, a foundational member of ECCV.

Special thanks to our sponsor Language Loop

Past Orations

2019: Professor Marcia Langton AM

The 2019 Walter Lippmann Memorial Oration honoured the United Nations International Year of Indigenous Languages through the oration by Professor Marcia Langton, an outstanding Australian.

Professor Langton is an anthropologist and geographer, and since 2000 has held the Foundation Chair of Australian Indigenous Studies at the University of Melbourne. She has produced a large body of knowledge in the areas of political and legal anthropology, Indigenous agreements and engagement with the minerals industry, and Indigenous culture and art.

In 1993, she was made a member of the Order of Australia in recognition of her work in anthropology and the advocacy of Aboriginal rights.

Read our event media release here.

2018: Julian Burnside AO KC

2017: Professor Gillian Triggs

2015: The Hon Michael Kirby AC CMG

2014: Indira Naidoo

2013: Arnold Zable

2012: Lindsay Tanner

2011: Malcolm Fraser, Tim Costello