Eddie Micallef has been reappointed as Chairperson of the ECCV, following the appointment of office bearers by the newly-elected board this week. Eddie has been on the ECCV Board since 2003 and previously served as chairperson from 2013-2017.

Congratulations to the nine Board Members elected at last week’s Annual General Meeting. The ECCV Board Members for 2022-33 are: Eddie Micallef (Chairperson), Jill Morgan and Jenny Semple (Deputy Chairs), Mohammed Yassin (Secretary), Jenny Matic (Treasurer), Abiola Akinbiyi, Joe Caputo, Sundram Sivamalai and Zeynep Yesilyurt.

Thank you to ECCV’s outgoing Board Members: Marian Lau OAM, Kris Pavlidis, Parsu Sharma Luital and Simon Jedwab for their leadership over the challenging past two years. We would like to especially acknowledge Marion’s long-standing contributions as a stalwart of ECCV, and chair of our Health and Wellbeing Policy Committee for many years.

The Annual General Meeting attracted a a stellar turnout and members were honored to hear from Katie Hall MP, Parliamentary Secretary for Multicultural Affairs Youth, and Emergency Management Commissioner, Andrew Crisp. This was the first opportunity for Ms Hall to address ECCV members in person since she was appointed in December.

It was a highlight to have the Commissioner speak about the groundbreaking work being done to strengthen relationships between multicultural leaders and emergency services organisations and the importance of working together more effectively to keep our communities safe. Andrew has been a great supporter of the establishment of the Multicultural Emergency Management Partnership, an initiative of ECCV and the Victorian Council of Social Services (VCOSS).

The AGM was our first in-person member event for some time, and it was a pleasure to see old friends and meet new members outside the virtual realm.